College Resumes/No more excuses & my judgement eliminated

Not going to start with the usual, “Man, its been a while!! Here’s why I didn’t have time to do it… Because you obviously care! right?.. RIGHT?”. Full disclosure, I got very lazy during my summer vacation. Let’s leave it at that. I’m now back at college for my second year, ready to hopefully kick some ass and continue to regularly update my blog as it used to be.

I have a possibly interesting story to share about being judgemental. It might be controversial, but stay with me. If you know where I go to college, you know that there is a sizeable homeless population in the city. Many times, when I’m checking out at a seven-eleven or something, I would encounter a homeless person, mostly male (observation), slowly shuffling into the store with eyes so droopy you’d think he had 8 straight hours of math classes, most likely high or drunk, to buy a pack of cigarettes. Now, obviously, vices are a problem that transcends country, but I know by my own experience that I have never, ever seen a homeless person back in India spend his/her money (Interesting observation:My observations on the average Indian metropolitan homeless population is that there are sort-of equal portions of males and females, leaving out transgender people, colloquially known back home as ‘chakas’) on buying drugs of any sort. (To answer your possible question, yes:tobacco, alcohol and even caffeine are technically classified as psychoactive drugs. The same classification under which substances like heroin and cocaine come under… Food for thought?). My own interpretation of this is that in a country that is economically better off, such things are more exposed to the general population than, say, a third world country. I may be wrong.

The point here is that, I always thought, “Why can’t that guy save his money up and build himself a life?” But then some time later I saw the Christian Bale starrer “American Psycho”, and the scene where Bateman talks to the homeless person and stabs him to death showed to me that there was obviously something wrong with that argument, and that well-off people in the post-60s generation kept using that argument to put poorer people down. i.e. The movie exaggerated this point to the point of murder to make a statement. I thought later, “These homeless people really have problems, they probably will never be able to integrate with the rest of middle class society.” even after I saw that scene, disagreeing with the message it carried. I felt sorry for them, but we know that sympathy is not what anyone left out solely wants. Just this evening I was leaving from a coffee shop, with a coffee cup in one hand and a bagel in the other when an apparently hippie/homeless man, who looked pretty bombed out opened the door, presumably at that point to enter the place, I was about to quickly dodge him and use the adjacent door when he stepped back and gave me room to leave the place before he entered. I never expected that! I said thanks to him and he even replied with the casual and common “mmhmm!” that every American cashier has used to me when I express gratitude. Right then I thought to myself, “Wow, who am I to judge anyone and say they can’t be a part of society just because they are different from what I have traditionally experienced. i.e. Why does it always gotta be about me, me, ME!”. I then came to the horrible realisation that this is the exact thing that the marriage equality movement and the anti-racism movement have consistently put out to show how meaningless it was to be a homophobe or a racist.

Moral of the story, seriously don’t judge people until you get to know them or have any sort of contact with them. And this goes both ways: Just because that guy left the door open for me that one time doesn’t mean that he is some good samaritan.

Have a good day/night, and I’ll talk to you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

