The Walking Dead Season finale, and Better Call Saul’s penultimate season 1 episode

More TV talk, fortunately/unfortunately, and obviously, spoilers for The Walking Dead and Better Call Saul follow.

I was really impressed and happy about the direction the writers took in the season 5 finale. The way they had been building up the themes over the previous few episodes, it really made me think that a major character would be killed off this episode, as is the classic and the easiest way to write out a drama. The continuing tension that flows through the episode, which ran for an hour and four minutes instead of the usual 42/43 minutes (I watch it via iTunes, not on TV, so I won’t be counting ad time), was quite nerve-wracking, especially for long time show fans. I can only imagine as such because I only caught up with this show via Netflix since I only came to the U.S. some months ago, and did not have a great catalog of TV to watch back home (I did watch some super popular dubbed anime’s like Beyblade and Pokemon some time ago… But that’s another story).

There is so much good stuff going on in Better Call Saul. The writing, the acting, the direction, the cinematography. What I personally love the most is the show’s cinematography. This show looks so damn great, with its sharp but cool colour pallet, together with some oft used Godfather-esque tint slapped on to the right scenes. The penultimate episode of season 1 revealed to the audience that it was actually Chuck, Jimmy’s own brother, who was against him the whole time. Chuck didn’t want Jimmy working on the case that Jimmy had worked up and built by himself, which revealed a sort of brotherly rivalry. I can relate to that since I had more than the occasional fight with my brother back in the day, mostly motivated by my bloated ego back then… (Puberty does weird things I guess…) We see Jimmy speeding away from Chuck’s house swearing that he will never see him or help him again, and this reminded me of the Breaking Bad series finale. That is really making a bold statement, when a show uses another show’s series finale’s source material in an homage to it in its penultimate episode, it really leaves one to think about what could possibly transpire in the finale to the first season of this wonderful show. I can’t wait.

That’s all I got, see you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

