Getting Back to the Student Life & “The End” (Lost Finale SPOILERS)

It has been quite a while, obviously, and a lot has transpired with me in the past week or two. I finished the series finale of Lost, and it was an extremely emotionally satisfying moment for me, the very end of it if you know what I am talking about. I don’t know about any others, but I thought that the fact that the writers of the show decided to finally come to terms with the themes explored in the show more than creating a conclusive plot-ending was a very well-made decision. The very best part was the way the last shot of the show was the same as the first shot of the show, full disclosure:I was totally in with the moment and got a bit teary-ish-ness… But there obviously were some things I wasn’t ok with on first viewing: How people of all religion (Sayid was a Muslim) came together in a church for their “moving on”, but on the other hand they did show imagery which had religious symbols of multiple religions (I managed to get a glimpse a a portrait of Krishna, so I felt it was ok-after all, Hollywood has been doing a lot of work thematically around Hinduism, there is an article out there I read which says so. Not that I am particularly religious.) Anyway, the views on the ending of the show were greatly polarised (source:Wikipedia), and I think that was one of the true genius things about it. The ending meant to tear you up inside, forcing you to consider for a moment whether we were just taken for a ride with the whole heaven thing, but then as Jack’s dad explains in the end, they created the environment of the flash-sideways universe based on their experiences in life on the island. I loved every bit of it. Thank you so much J.J. Abrams, Damon Lindelof, Carlton Cuse, Jack Bender and Jeffrey Lieber for this show!

Now back to the present day, where I am trying to get back into the habit of actually doing college work and studying as I once did. Classes have just started, and I anticipate that it will slowly pick up in a week or two. So I’ve mostly been taking it easy and relaxing in my room all the time I’m not in class. After finishing with Lost, I don’t know my purpose anymore… Just kidding! I’m thinking about getting myself a bicycle for commute as my schedule is slightly more packed than last semester and I have back to back classes this semester, so going back and forth might be made easier with a device of this sort. That’s about it for now, I’m resuming daily blogs herewith. See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

