Just started seeing ‘Gotham’ and more good school news

I just started watching the new Fox series ‘Gotham’. It it more about Jim Gordon and his dealing with a corrupt police department and all of the things that transpired before Bruce Wayne became Batman. It also deals with the origins stories of many iconic DC villains. (I for one am particularly in admiration of the portrayal of Penguin, or Oswald Cobblepot, both the acting and the writing of the character.) I avoided all reviews, summaries and stuff like that before starting to watch the show, so I went in with a very blank mind, not knowing what to expect. Then I begun my journey (I’m on episode 4 now, still catching up…), and it is going quite well. Off the bat, I noticed that there were A LOT of Godfather homages, even major parts of the plot of the episodes I’ve seen till now are quite firmly based on The Godfather. Falcone is portrayed as a righteous organised crime don who is getting old and the newer stuff that is transpiring is against his beliefs. (AKA the plot of The Godfather). One of the main characters even says to another character, while beating the latter, “YOU BROKE MY HEART”. The OBVIOUS (to me at least) ‘The Godfather: Part 2’ reference was totally cool to hear, but would make one think as to whether the itself is good, original and fun to watch or not. From my opinion, it is well worth the watch. The casting is quite well done. I understand that people are split on the casting of the lead role, but personally, I like him; I think he fits and that he does hold the look of hope and righteousness that represents the main characteristics of the character.

I got A’s on both my Physics mid term and my English essay! I was super happy. Again, it was not like I had to do some real hardcore preperations for the former, or some serious time-expenditure for the latter. I think it was because of the fact that I payed attention in class actively. I love the way school is going for me, and I sincerely hope that my performance is consistent, if not improving in the final exams that are imminent (more like, in a month.) That’s all I have. See you next time!

Leave a Reply

