A night at a film archive

Today evening I had the opportunity to go to a film archive and watch a movie preceded by a scholarly, intellectual talk about what the movie signifies, and other things. Then the film started off, and it was a very ambitious one and a very ambiguous one as well. It is one of Kubrick’s wildest, most jaw dropping films ever. I was quite impressed with Kubrick’s brilliant use of the steadicam for his extended shots. They are in them selves much scarier than any jump scare in any movie I’ve ever seen. If you’ve seen the movie, you’ll know I’m talking about the extended steadicam shots of Danny on the tricycle:pure brilliance and mastery of the steadicam. Right opposite to Paul Greengrass’ mastery of shaky camerawork. How can I not mention the beauty and star of this movie that is Jack Nicholson. Words cannot describe how amazing his performance in this movie is. It is, in my opinion, the performance that defined his acting style from that time forward. Thats all I have for now, I’ll see you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

