Planning Ahead

The registration phase for our spring semester courses begins in about 10 days, so I’ve been spending quite some time thinking and planning my set of classes for the next semester (after the winter break). Its very strange because in the mean time I’m also thinking about how I’m going to deal with the final exams of my courses this semester, but it is equally (if not more) important that I get into the classes that I want to get into for the next semester, if they fill up I’m going to have a serious problem; But the likelihood of that is rather low, so I’m quite confident that I’ll get into the classes that I want to get into. Now that I’ve settled here and learnt about how the system works, I’m able to make a more informed decision by considering not just the timing of classes (like I did for this semester, but out of luck it is working very well!), but also the number of mid-term exams, the grading method of the class, the professor’s reputation as a teacher and more. I’m doing quite well for a first year international student if I may say so myself, but I’m certain that I will do better the next semester since I would have selected my classes after careful consideration. I also spent some time thinking about declaring my major and how I should plan to take the pre-requisite courses at the proper times before submitting my application for the major. It is important that I do exceedingly well in those pre-req courses, as it is the gpa of those courses on which my application to declare my major will be considered. Most people who apply get in, but I just want to avoid all possibility of being on the other side.

That’s all I have today, see you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

